As soon as you have created a group, you can turn it into a template for creating future groups. This is useful if you need to create multiple groups with the same settings (visibility, membership, permissions).
- Navigate to the group you wish to convert into a template, or create a brand new group from yoursite.com/groups. PLEASE NOTE that once you convert your group into a template, it will no longer be a regular group accessible to members. This means that the feature is best used once a group is created, but before members are added to it.
- Edit your group to adjust the settings for Permissions, Visibility, and Membership to your liking (these settings will be copied to any groups created from the template). Save and go back to your group.
- In the right-hand Actions panel, click "(Advanced) Make this group a template for creating other groups". This action cannot be undone.
- The template group will appear in your regular groups listing, but only for admins to see.
Within the template you have the following options:
- Make a new group from this template - A group you create from this template will have the same logo, permissions, visibility, and membership settings as the template. Other basic info and activity in the group (discussions, polls, etc) will not be copied over.
- Groups based on this template - clicking this will show all groups created using this template.
Note: Changing the settings on your template will not automatically affect groups created based on that template. Changes to the template will be reflected in future groups.